Meghalaya CM allocates portfolios

Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K. Sangma on Wednesday allotted portfolios to the newly inducted ministers, while keeping a few to himself including finance, personnel, planning.
Sangma, who is heading the six-party Meghalaya Democratic Alliance coalition government, allotted the key Home portfolio to his older brother James Sangma.
James, the three-time National People’s Party legislator was given also  allotted Food Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs, Power District Council Affairs, Law besides Home (Police), Home (Jail), Home (Passport),
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislator Alexander Laloo Hek was allotted Health and Family Welfare, Information and Public Relation, Arts and Culture.
NPP legislator Prestone Tynsong, was allotted Public Works Department (Roads), Animal Husbandry and Veterinary, Housing, Parliamentary Affairs and Labour.
Comingone Ymbon and Sniawbhalang Dhar, Comingone Ymbon were tasked with looking after Public Works Department (Building), General Administration Department, Fisheries, Transport, Commerce and Industry, Community and Rural Development besides Soil and Water Conservation respectively.
The Chief Minister allotted Water Resources, Toursim, Excise and Home Guards and Civil Defence to senior United Democratic Party (UDP) legislator Metbah Lyngdoh.
Lahkmen Rymbui who was elected as UDP legislator from Amlarem constituency was given Forest and Environment, Education and Border Area Development.
Kyrmen Shylla, who was elected for the first time to the assembly as UDP legislator and the youngest cabinet minister, was allotted Revenue and Disaster Management, Social Welfare, Printing and Stationery.
Banteidor Lyngdoh of the People’s Democratic Front was allotted Agriculture, Horticulture, Sports and Youth Affairs, Sericulture and Weaving, while his party colleague Hamletson Dohling was tasked with Urban Affairs, including Municipal Administration besides Information and Technology.
Hill State People’s Democratic Party legislator Samlin Malngiang was allotted Public Health Engineering, Secretariat Administration and Legal Metrology.
Earlier, 58 newly elected members to the 10th Meghalaya Assembly took oath before Pro-tem Speaker Timothy Dalbot Shira at a special session in Shillong.
Chief Minister Conrad K. Sangma, who was sworn in as Chief Minister is a non-elected member of the assembly. 
Former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma, who won the state elections at two assembly constituencies – Ampati and Songsak – read out his oath for only one constituency (Songsak).
Mukul, later told journalists outside the House that he had not yet decided on the constituency he would vacate. 
Former Chief Minister Donkupar Roy, former Union Minister Agatha K. Sangma, former Rajya Sabha member Thomas Sangma also read the oath of office and secrecy. 
Roy is the longest serving serving legislator who got elected from Shella constituency for seven consecutive terms since 1988. 
While Shira (68), is the oldest among the legislator of the present House, Mawhati legislator , Dasakhiat Lamare,(25), is the youngest.
In the just concluded assembly elections election to Williamnagar seat was countermanded following the death of NCP candidate, Jonathone N. Sangma.
The Election Commission is yet to fix the date of polling for the constituency.


Kuknalim is an online community forum for the Nagas worldwide. An international Naga forum where one can share knowledge and ideas. Share, Discuss and Connect with fellow Nagas.

Leave a Reply

Notify of